Warning message

Submissions for this form are closed.

Parallel Performance Evaluation Using TAU: August 31, 2020

Workshop Title:

Parallel Performance Evaluation Using TAU

Date/Time:

August 31 2020:  1-day workshop – online, via Webex
September 1, 2020:  Individual online meetings by appointment

September 2+, 2020: additional online meetings by appointment as needed. 

Description:

To meet the needs of computational scientists to evaluate the performance of their parallel, scientific applications, Dr. Sameer Shende of ParaTools, Inc. will present the TAU Performance System and its interfaces to other tools such as PAPI, Score-P, Scalasca, OTF and Vampir. This one day workshop will cover performance evaluation of applications on LLNL, Sandia, and LANL platforms. It will focus on performance data collection, analysis, and performance optimization. It will describe and demonstrate how performance data (both profile and trace data) can be collected in a straightforward manner using TAU's (Tuning and Analysis Utilities) automated instrumentation for C++/C/Fortran/Python, using MPI, CUDA, ROCm, Kokkos, OpenMP, OpenCL, OpenACC, and other programming models. It will cover how to analyze the performance data collected and drill down to find performance bottlenecks and determine their causes. The workshop will include hands-on sessions with sample codes that illustrate the different instrumentation and measurement choices available to users. Topics will cover generating performance profiles and traces with OpenMP instrumentation using the OpenMP Tools API with Intel compilers, memory utilization, I/O, and hardware performance counters data using PAPI.

The use of TAU for containerized distribution of software, including Singularity containers from the Extreme-scale Scientific Software Stack (E4S) [https://e4s.io] will be demonstrated with ROCm and CUDA and access to GPUs. 

One-on-one consultation sessions are also available for further, more in-depth, instruction and help in addressing performance bottlenecks in your codes – see below. 

Agenda

August 31 Workshop: Webex 
Morning: 9am PT/10am MT - noon PT/1pm MT

  • Introduction to TAU
  • Instrumentation: Using tau_exec with MPI, OpenMP OMPT, CUDA, ROCm, and OpenACC
  • I/O, and memory evaluation
  • Hands-on
  • Lunch Break: noon PT/1pm MT - 1:30pm PT/2:30pm MT
  • Afternoon 1:30pm PT/2:30pm PT  - 4:30pm PT/5:30pm MT
  • Demonstration of analysis tools: Paraprof, TAUdb and PerfExplorer
  • Vampir and Jumpshot
  • Using TAU with E4S Singularity containers
  • Hands-on

September 1, 2020: Individual consulting sessions by appointment.

September 2+: additional consulting sessions as needed.  

  • Applying performance evaluation tools to user codes
  • Consulting time slots must be reserved in advance by .contacting Sameer Shende:  sameer@paratools.com